Events

Dates for Your Diary 2018/2019

Non-CLHS events shown on grey background

Date

All events will be held at 8pm in Dreghorn Loan Hall, unless otherwise noted.

Wednesday 14 November 2018

Edinburgh Women's campaign for voting rights and eligibility for public office, 1867-1918

Lecture by Esther Breitenbach for The Old Edinburgh Club. 7pm at the Augustine United Church, George IV Bridge. Further details here

Monday 19 November 2018

A Line Through Edinburgh: Archaeological Investigations along the Tram Route

Speaker: John Lawson, City Archaeologist

Sunday 2 December 2018

Elsie Inglis - the Woman Who Would Not Sit Still! Drama with live music, telling the story of the physician, surgeon, humanitarian, medical pioneer, suffragist, and founder of the Scottish Women’s Hospitals for Foreign Service during World War I. 7.30pm at Augustine United Church, 41 George IV Bridge. Further details and ticket prices here.

Monday 3 December 2018

The Edinburgh of John Kay

Talk & book signing by Eric Melvin, Historian and Author

Sunday 16 December 2018

Christmas Concert by The Colinton & Merchiston Choir. 7.30pm in the Memorial Hall at Merchiston Castle School. Admission free (retiring collection), with tea and coffee provided after the concert. Further details here

Monday 17 December 2018

A Child's Christmas

Speaker: Lyn Stevens of the Museum of Childhood, Edinburgh

Monday 7 January 2019

Members' Evening

Wednesday 16 January 2019

Representations of Old Edinburgh in the National Galleries of Scotland collection

Lecture by Patricia Allerston for The Old Edinburgh Club. 7pm at the Augustine United Church, George IV Bridge. Further details here

Monday 21 January 2019

Heraldry, the Shorthand of History

Speaker: Charles Burnet, Former Ross Herald of Arms

Monday 4 February 2019

Slateford, Longstone and Redhall in Bygone Days

Speakers: Bob Bell and George Wyse of CLHS

Wednesday 13 February 2019

The musical culture of coffee houses and taverns in 18th-century Edinburgh

Lecture by Elizabeth Ford for The Old Edinburgh Club. 7pm at the Augustine United Church, George IV Bridge. Further details here

Monday 18 February 2019

The "Forgotten Man of Scottish Art" - The Life and Art of Charles H Mackie

Talk and book signing by Pat Clark, Author and Historian

Monday 4 March 2019

Thoughts on Russia and the Russian Revolution

Speaker: Dr John Gooding

Wednesday 13 March 2019

Women, marriage and work in 17th century Edinburgh

Lecture by Aaron Allen for The Old Edinburgh Club. 7pm at the Augustine United Church, George IV Bridge. Further details here

Monday 18 March 2019

Annual General Meeting

Colinton Local History Society is grateful to Pentlands Neigbourhood Partnership

for its assistance towards funding the Society's website and archive projects

BHouse. Copyright @ All Rights Reserved.

BANK