Events

Dates for Your Diary 2018/2019

Non-CLHS events shown on grey background

Date

All events will be held at 8pm in Dreghorn Loan Hall, unless otherwise noted.

Until Saturday 18 April 2020

Northern Lights, the Scottish Enlightenment

Exhibition at the National Library of Scotland. Free admission.  Further details here

Monday 4 November 2019

Supporting the Conservation of The Union Chain Bridge built 1820 near Berwick on Tweed. Speakers:  Prof. Roland Paxton and Dr Colin Stove

9 November 2019 to 8 March 2020

Classical Edinburgh:  photographic exhibition at City Art Centre. Free admission. Further details here

Monday 18 November 2019

Turning a negative into a positive. The Work of the Buildings at Risk Register.

Speaker:  Simon Green, Historic Environment Scotland

Monday 2 December 2019

Robert Sibbald and the Foundation of the Royal College of Physicians Edinburgh.

Speaker:  Iain Milne, Royal College of Physicians

Monday 16 December 2019

A Walk through History.

Speaker:  John Stirling, Friends of the Pentlands

Monday 6 January 2020

Members’ Evening

Details to be announced

Monday 20 January 2020

The Island of North Rona - Its History, Archaeology and Present.

Speaker:  George Geddes Landsape Archaeologist, Historic Environment Scotland

Monday 3 February 2020

Defending Edinburgh.

Speaker:  Allan Kilpatrick Historic Environment Scotland

Monday 17 February 2020

The Runaway Enslaved in 18th Century Britain.

Speaker:  Nelson Mundell, Runaway Slaves in Britain Project

Monday 2 March 2020

Edinburgh Merchant John Clerk of Eldin and his  influence on the Battle of Trafalgar.

Speaker:  Jim Tildesley

Monday 16 March 2020

AGM

Colinton Local History Society is grateful to Pentlands Neigbourhood Partnership

for its assistance towards funding the Society's website and archive projects

BHouse. Copyright @ All Rights Reserved.

BANK