Events

Dates for Your Diary 2018/2019

Non-CLHS events shown on grey background

Date

All events will be held at 8pm in Dreghorn Loan Hall, unless otherwise noted.

Monday 7 January 2019

CHANGE TO PROGRAMME

Merchiston Castle School and World War I

Speaker: Nick Blair, Chaplain to Merchiston Castle School

Wednesday 16 January 2019

Representations of Old Edinburgh in the National Galleries of Scotland collection

Lecture by Patricia Allerston for The Old Edinburgh Club. 7pm at the Augustine United Church, George IV Bridge. Further details here

Monday 21 January 2019

A talk on Heraldry

Speaker: to be confirmed

Monday 4 February 2019

RESCHEDULED FROM 18 FEBRUARY

The "Forgotten Man of Scottish Art" - The Life and Art of Charles H Mackie

Talk and book signing by Pat Clark, Author and Historian

Wednesday 13 February 2019

The musical culture of coffee houses and taverns in 18th-century Edinburgh

Lecture by Elizabeth Ford for The Old Edinburgh Club. 7pm at the Augustine United Church, George IV Bridge. Further details here

Monday 18 February 2019

RESCHEDULED FROM 4 FEBRUARY

Slateford, Longstone and Redhall in Bygone Days

Speakers: Bob Bell and George Wyse of CLHS

Monday 4 March 2019

Thoughts on Russia and the Russian Revolution

Speaker: Dr John Gooding

Wednesday 13 March 2019

Women, marriage and work in 17th century Edinburgh

Lecture by Aaron Allen for The Old Edinburgh Club. 7pm at the Augustine United Church, George IV Bridge. Further details here

Until Sunday 17 March 2019

Robert Blomfield: Edinburgh Street Photography

Exhibition of photographs taken during the 1960s. Free admission. Further details here

Monday 18 March 2019

Annual General Meeting

Until Sunday 12 May 2019

In Focus: Scottish Photography

Exhibition of photographs from the City Art Centre’s collections, charting the development of fine art photography in Scotland from the 19th century to present day. Free admission. Further details here

Colinton Local History Society is grateful to Pentlands Neigbourhood Partnership

for its assistance towards funding the Society's website and archive projects

BHouse. Copyright @ All Rights Reserved.

BANK