Events

Dates for Your Diary 2018/2019

Non-CLHS events shown on grey background

Date

All events will be held at 8pm in Dreghorn Loan Hall, unless otherwise noted.

Sunday 2 September 2018

Art in the Park, 11am - 5pm in Spylaw Park

Monday 1 October 2018

Capital Brewing: the History of Brewing in Edinburgh

Speaker: John Martin of the Scottish Brewing Archive Association

Monday 15 October 2018

St Cecilia's Hall and its Musical Collection

Speaker: Sarah Deters, University of Edinburgh

Monday 5 November 2018

Sex, Drugs and Windy Nights: R L Stevenson in Edinburgh

Speaker: Lady Joyce Caplan

Monday 19 November 2018

A Line Through Edinburgh: Archaeological Investigations along the Tram Route

Speaker: John Lawson, City Archaeologist

Monday 3 December 2018

The Edinburgh of John Kay

Talk & book signing by Eric Melvin, Historian and Author

Monday 17 December 2018

A Child's Christmas

Speaker: Lyn Stevens of the Museum of Childhood, Edinburgh

Monday 7 January 2019

Members' Evening

Monday 21 January 2019

Heraldry, the Shorthand of History

Speaker: Charles Burnet, Former Ross Herald of Arms

Monday 4 February 2019

Slateford, Longstone and Redhall in Bygone Days

Speakers: Bob Bell and George Wyse of CLHS

Monday 18 February 2019

The "Forgotten Man of Scottish Art" - The Life and Art of Charles H Mackie

Talk and book signing by Pat Clark, Author and Historian

Monday 4 March 2019

Thoughts on Russia and the Russian Revolution

Speaker: Dr John Gooding

Monday 18 March 2019

Annual General Meeting

Colinton Local History Society is grateful to Pentlands Neigbourhood Partnership

for its assistance towards funding the Society's website and archive projects

BHouse. Copyright @ All Rights Reserved.

BANK